Friday, September 14, 2007

Promoting Landmark Status for the Tram

TramNYC_Committee_at 55p

The NYC Tram Committee’s sole purpose is to work towards securing landmark status for the Roosevelt Island Tram. To that end the group set up a website back in 2006 to secure signatures on an on-line petition and to raise awareness to their efforts.

The website discusses the history of the Tram and the reasons it deserves landmark status, first NYC landmark status and National landmark status.

According to the site:

“Once the signatures are collected, the Save the Tram Committee and the
Community Board 8 Landmark Commission will present their case to the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, an 11 member group appointed by the Mayor. If it is approved by the Commission, it then goes to the City Council for final approval. The Save the Tram Committee has enlisted the aid of Jessica Lappin, City Council Member, and Scott Stringer, Manhattan Borough President, to work with the Community Board 8 Landmark Commission on their presentation.”

I have sent e-mails to
Jessica Lappin’s office to inquire as to the status of this effort from her point of view. The Councilmember is the chair of the Land Use Subcommittee on Landmarks, Public Siting, and Maritime Uses as well as a member of the Transportation Committee.

The officers of the NYC Tram Committee include Archie Seale (President),Kai Razaghi (Vice-President), David Oh (Treasurer) and Tami Campbell (Secretary).

I am interested in this effort and I will provide updates as I learn more.

No comments:

Post a Comment